Eac Mediation Agreement

The ECJ is primarily responsible for interpreting and implementing the ECAC Treaty. The Court also has the original court, appeal and human rights on treaty issues. For example, partner states; the Secretary-General, as well as legal and physical persons, have the right to appeal because of a Member State`s violation of the ECAC Treaty. The ECJ also has jurisdiction to rule on cases involving the ABC and its staff. The ECJ may be invited by a partner state to terminate an agreement involving the ABC or a partner state. The Court`s decisions are based on a majority judgment. The Court has attempted, albeit with difficulty and defiance, to exercise and consolidate its independence by adopting decisions submitted to it for decision, some of which are considered contentious. The decisions of the summit during its sessions are achieved by consensus, a process that not only allows for debate among members, but also discourages the win-all system inherent in the majority rule. Specifically, by incorporating consensus as the most practical option for making decisions at summits, the founding fathers made known the difficulties that the ABC could face in the event of an impasse on an issue. Differences of opinion within the EAC I Heads of State and Government Authority, the equivalent of the EAC II summit, notably between Presidents Nyerere and Ugandan Idi Amin Dada, were one of the key factors that made the Community`s action dysfunctional and ultimately disintegrate.

Suffice it to say that the authors of the treaty informed the already potential if a deadlock were to occur in the deliberations of the summit. Mediation contract of the East African Community for the allocation of the assets and liabilities of the first EAC. Signing of the brokerage agreement for the first ABC. Source: Viktor H. Umbrecht, Multilateral Mediation: Practical Experiences and Lessons. Dordrecht (Netherlands), 1988 In the agreement, the three states also agreed to explore areas of future cooperation and to take concrete steps for such cooperation. The committee is made up of permanent secretaries from the regional cooperation ministries of partner states. Its meetings are held twice a year, before the Council sessions, to enable the Committee to coordinate the programme of ministers of regional cooperation for which they are directly responsible. The Chair, appointed in turn among the members, may convene an extraordinary meeting to deal with specific issues.